Spicy Shrimp Sushi Bowl

Oscar is 10 years old! The last day in February- not the leap year- Oscar became an official elderly citizen. In human years, he now qualifies for the AARP and Medicare. He’s graying, balding, slowing, and becoming increasingly grumpy and stubborn. He’s really mastering aging in just the most appropriate and enjoyable fashion. This year, he celebrated by going on a walk that was too long and relishing in a anxiety-free day in which I never left the apartment without him. I wonder if he misses the birthday cakes of his younger years… Maybe; maybe not.

I won’t dilute this dog-centric celebration with other news of my weekend, even though I am actually very much loving living in Durham and excited to experience and share more of it. For now, I’ll settle with birthday news and a recipe.

Have you seen sushi bowls on the Internet? I’m not entirely sure to what degree the Internet influenced my interest in creating this recipe, but for one reason or another, I couldn’t wait to try making it. I know making actual sushi is outside of my culinary capacity at this time (namely because I lack the appropriate tools), but a sushi bowl is straight-forward and still inclusive of my favorite sushi flavors. I went with spicy shrimp as it’s one of my favorite rolls, and it’s distinctly lacking the risky manipulation of raw fish. I simply layered in the complimentary vegetables, found some sushi rice (again) in my neighborhood bulk bins, and went for it. And it was so easy! And so delicious! I recently (yesterday) purchased a microwave, but I like that this would be easily served hot or cold (if you, like me, struggle with leftovers). It actually may be better cold, and I’ll probably try tomorrow. The varieties here are endless, and I’m kicking myself for not buying some nori to add, so definitely give this version or another a try.

Spicy Shrimp Sushi Bowl

Serves 4

Adapted from wholefoods.com

1 cup short-grain sushi rice

2 1/4 cups water

2 tbsp. rice wine vinegar

1/2 tbsp. sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 lb raw, peeled and deveined shrimp

1 tbsp. safflower (or other neutral, high-heat) oil

1 tbsp. sriracha

1 tbsp. Greek yogurt

1 cucumber, sliced thinly

1 large avocado, diced

1/4 cup soy sauce

In a medium pot, heat the water to boiling. Lower to a simmer, add the rice, cover, and cook for approximately 15 minutes, until the rice is soft and cooked through. In a microwave safe bowl, microwave the vinegar until heated but not exploding in your microwave (like 20 seconds). Add the sugar and salt and stir to dissolve. Add the cooked rice and set aside.

In a large cast-iron skillet, add the oil over medium-high heat. Add the shrimp and sauté for 3-4 minutes on each side, until opaque and cooked through. In a medium bowl, stir together the Greek yogurt and sriracha. Add the shrimp and toss together.

In a serving bowl, layer the sushi rice, sliced cucumber, diced avocado, and spicy shrimp. Top with a drizzle of soy sauce. Dig around for some extra chopsticks (or a fork if you’ve recently moved and aren’t stocked with take-out commodities) and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

